I want magic – #9

I just came home for a quick lunch and to let the dog out, not in that order. I have a few minutes to write. I have heard from a few friends since letting everyone know about this blog and I am thrilled. I know this is a shock to some of you so I so appreciate your thoughts.

Some great things have come from being diagnosed with MS. I think re-connecting with close friends has been one of them. The other positive is that I have permission to take care of myself. Prior to my diagnosis I was always go go go. I did eat ok and exercised when I had time but now if I am tired, I rest (sometimes). I go to Yoga classes even when I don’t have time and I don’t push myself. I understand that I if i don’t take care of myself I won’t be able to take care of my amazing family. I want to be well and able for them. Gentle exercise (walking, swimming, yoga) feels better than things that are more vigorous. I am eating foods that will make me feel good and researching different diets. I am trying to listen to my body although this is tough. I don’t know how I am supposed to feel. Between MS and different drugs I don’t think my body is performing optimally. (yet)

While I have regular doctor visits and blood tests, I am also experimenting with alternative or complimentary tools. I am just starting to learn about Yoga and Ayurvedic practices. I take lots of vitamins and supplements. I have stopped eating all meat and dairy (yes, even ice cream). I dropped red meat in July and dairy in September. For the month of November I am eating completely raw. It took me awhile to figure out that this meant no bread or pasta but I am getting used to it. I hope by the end of the month I will know if it is realistic to keep this diet up. December is not exactly the right month to eat lean but I am willing to give it a try. The holidays really aren’t about food anyway. While their are traditional holiday meals, when I look back at past holidays, I don’t remember exactly what I ate, but I remember exactly how I felt. I want to capture the magic moments of the holidays this year and fully appreciate what is going on around me. How can you be in the moment when you are contemplating an extra serving or just one more cookie?

3 responses to “I want magic – #9

  1. Hi, Courtney — So glad to find a new post! You have been on my mind constantly since just learning 24 hours ago about your recent diagnosis of MS. What are the physical changes you are experiencing? Most of the websites I have looked at talk about many different symptoms…I want to be there for you yet understand if you wold rather not talk about specifics 🙂

  2. Hey there … just tracked you down. The issue of having to be ‘selfish’ when you find out about your condition is a recent development. My mom was diagnosed back in the 70’s and the thought at the time was to hide it. Did not help her much. Today, we understand that with a bit of focus and intelligent action, the diagnosed patient can live a full and fruitful life for many more years. Toughing it out may be ok with a cold, but not with a chronic neurological condition.

  3. ok, this is the last comment i’ll post today. i have a head start in the “healthy lifestyle changes” department in that i’ve been vegan for 8 years now. i just wanted to tell you that once you get used to avoiding meat and dairy you will not miss it at all. probably by now you are already finding it much easier.

    i just emailed you – feel free to email if you need any advice or support with your new diet. the hard diet change for me right now is going more low fat, and severely limiting all transfats and saturated fats. but having an incentive more powerful than “skinny butt” helps a lot, doesn’t it?

    -jen

Leave a Reply

