What’s your dosha? #11

I just got home from an MS seminar and I am ready for bed! I feel tired but energized at the same time. The seminar I went to tonight was put on by Biogen Idec and featured three prominent neurologists in Utah. It was great to hear different viewpoints on alternative medicine and more conventional meds like statins. Lipitor has been shown to be effective in treating MS although it is not an authorized MS drug. There is also a drug called Fampridine that I had never heard of until tonight. When the protective covering over the nerve is damaged, signals can’t get through. Fampridine bridges the gap and allows nerve messages to get across. Fampridine is a drug that blocks the potassium channels in neurons. This effectively improves the transmission of nerve impulses down damaged axons. It does not replace damaged myelin but users of 4-aminopyridine report dramatic improvement in a number of symptoms. I am going to ask my neurologist about this at my next visit.

Ok, enough technical talk. While MS is the focus of this blog, other things do happen in my day that are blog worthy. Guinness, our nine month old Shepherd/Lab mix graduated from his first obedience class today. He is a really smart dog but has selective hearing so I was thrilled that he did so well. When I got home tonight, Bailey was half asleep when I went in to kiss her tonight. I love when she is right in between being awake and almost dreaming. She is so relaxed and peaceful. I wish I could capture that feeling and use it during stressful times. Maybe my Yoga will help with that.

Monday morning I had my first one on one Yoga instructions. I have been going to group classes twice a week and really enjoy it. I wanted to learn more about the practice instead of the movements though and figure out how best to apply it to me personally. My session started at 5:15 a.m. and I was so concerned that my alarm would not go off that I did not sleep well. The class was great and very personalized. We talked at length about my goals and objectives and discussed Ayurvedic principles and doshas. My yoga instructor guessed me to be Pitta and told me to research it more online. Check out http://www.whatsyourdosha.com/ and do the quiz. Sure enough, I am a Pitta or Fire.

I lost 1.4 pounds today at Weight Watchers. I try to go to meetings every week and find them so helpful to stay aware of what I eat. Since I have been eating raw, I can really eat as much as I want but still want the support of the group meetings. I plan to reach my goal weight before the end of the year and continue meetings. I found that I lose weight easier when the goal is to be healthy rather than to be the perfect size. 1.6 pounds to go and I will be down a total of 20 pounds since March. Sometimes I think I have been gaining and losing the same 20 pounds for the past 10 years and I am ready to break the cycle!! Just to be on the safe side, I will make it 30 pounds this time.

It’s way past my bedtime. Thanks to my amazing friends and family (near and far) that are reading this and showing never ending love and support. I am so lucky to have you all in my life.

Leave a Reply

