At least I know I am an Episcopalian – #20

I just finished a thirty day raw diet. I know people that maintain this way of eating and lifestyle but for me, now is not the time. Thirty days of eating raw fruits, vegetables and some nuts and sprouted grains was so good for me. I dropped a few pounds and loved the feeling of never feeling full. I hope that it also brought some moderation to my diet and helped me to cut the cravings of foods I want to drop for good. These foods include meat and poultry along with dairy. I am going to cut sugar and processed foods signifigantly with absolutely no high fructose corn syrup and no trans fats. This will not only positively impact my MS but many other potential health issues as well.

At dinner last night, I mentioned that was going to modify my raw diet into a Vegan diet. Yep, I’m a Vegan now! We were out at a sushi restaurant and I had just ordered a roll with white fish. I explained to my dad that was going to be a Vegan but would eat eggs and occasional seafood. My dad explained back that I would be closer to a Vegetarian but based on the Vegan philosophy, I wasn’t one of them.

“I’m a Vegan” sounds so cool, so I was a little disappointed. I am usually not into the labeling thing but in this case, I want a label.

This morning I decided to do a little Vegan/Vegetarian research and here is what I found on http://www.vegetarianvegan.com (there is a website for everything).

“VEGETARIAN:
Vegetarian is a blanket term used to describe a person who does not consume meat, poultry, fish, or seafood. This grouping includes vegans and the various sub- categories of vegetarian; however, it generally implies someone who has less dietary restrictions than a vegan.

SEMI-VEGETARIAN:
The term semi-vegetarian is usually used to describe someone who is not actually a vegetarian. Semi-vegetarian generally implies someone who only eats meat occasionally or doesn’t eat meat, but eats poultry and fish.

OVO-LACTO-VEGETARIAN:
Ovo-lacto vegetarians are vegetarians who do not consume meat, poultry, fish, and seafood, but do consume eggs and milk. This is the largest group of vegetarians.

OVO-VEGETARIAN:
Ovo-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume eggs.

LACTO-VEGETARIAN:
Lacto-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume milk.

VEGAN:
Vegan is the strictest sub-category of vegetarians. Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products. Some go as far as not even consuming honey and yeast. Others do not wear any clothing made from animal products.

So, according to these descriptions I am chosing to be a “Semi Vegetarian”. I have never been a semi anything. Semi is so not cool.If I just drop the seafood, I can be an Ovo-Vegetarian. Not as cool as Vegan but way cooler than Semi Vegetarian. My 2007 food goal is to evolve into an Ovo-Vegetarian and study the Vegan philosophy. I love their socially responsible viewpoints but don’t know how many more causes I can be fully committed to at the moment. So, like everyone, I am a work in progress.

I guess unless I want to be a Semi-Vegetarian or an Ovo-Crustacean-Vegetarian, New Year’s Eve may have to be a farewell to Lobster night!

3 responses to “At least I know I am an Episcopalian – #20

  1. What no more Kosher sausage……lol

  2. Eat what makes you happy and doesn’t harm you! Don’t deny yourself the pleasure of a food you enjoy unless it is clearly causing you harm. It’s the small pleasures of life we are meant to savor!

  3. My 5 day diet of twizzlers and coffee did not work quite as well for me. I guess I’m your control group, eh?

Leave a Reply

