Love it or leave it – #71

If vertigo will not leave me, I will find a way to leave vertigo. I am starting to accept the fact that I don’t have the power to turn it off or make it go away but I do have choices. I can get over it, get through it and/or get used to it. It will be a fight as I know that the steroids will try to make me grumpy and frustrated.

Here is my plan for the next 7-10 days….

1. Modify yoga practice – just because I don’t feel well enough to do my usual yoga practice doesn’t mean I can’t do yoga at all. I will practice 15 – 30 minutes a day doing comforting poses and healthy stretches.

2. Be grateful – I will remember that my symptoms could be worse and that they will likely get better.

3. Cleanse – I have alot of powerful drugs in my system along with extra sugar and flour (my comfort foods). For the next seven – ten days I will only eat fruits and vegetables, nuts and seeds. I will drink lots of room temperature water and warm tea with dandelion extract. I am dehydrating apples and making a nice veggie soup for snacks.

4. Rest and Sleep- I will rest. All of the things that I feel guilty about not doing will be there when I stop resting. I will go to bed before 9:30 every night.

5. Walk – Dizzy or not, I will walk every day and spend time outside.

6. Music – I will only listen to my favorite music in the car this week. No radio – only Ipod favs.

7. Alternative Therapies – I will try acupuncture, massage or PT for Vertigo.

8. Take care of my family by taking care of myself – I know that my family needs me and they get worried and frustrated when I am not well. I will take care of myself now so that I can better take care of them.

3 responses to “Love it or leave it – #71

  1. WOW!!!!! That’s all i can say, you are so motivating and positive!

    I am so proud to be your sister šŸ™‚

    A

  2. Hi Courtney,

    I’m sorry you are having an exacerbation.

    Personally, I think rest is essential. You are a do-er. You have to let go and not push yourself, in my opinion, anyway.

    I view my MS flare-ups as a sign that I’ve been pushing too much (once again!).

    wishing you well.

  3. If you are going to go out walking … please do take a cell phone with, a form of identification (and emergency phone #s) as well as leaving a note behind to detail your intended path.

    If you do have a vertigo spell and take a fall, someone will know if/where/when to look for you.

Leave a Reply

