Do Less, Be More

I am waiting patiently (sort-of patiently) for my insurance company to let me know I can start Tysabri. I will have to wait a month from my last Avonex shot so I really hope they call tomorrow and I can avoid this weeks injection! Actually, I don’t think it can possibly be as bad as it was last week so I am not going to panic.

I questioned my Tysabri decision momentarily after a consultation with an Ayurvedic Practitioner. Ayurveda has been practiced for over 5000 years. The basic idea is that all human beings are combinations of three doshasvata, pitta, and kapha – whose harmonious functioning is the key to good health. This is achieved through diet, yoga, herbal formulas and other mind-body connection ideas. I am reading a book now called Essential Ayurveda and one chapter explains the Ayurveda way as “Learning how intimately your body and mind are connected, knowing what will make them work in harmony, and doing what you can to create that harmony. That is all there is to it”

Also interesting….It is Sage Charaka who is widely credited as being Ayurveda’s founding father. He is said to have been the world’s first physician to describe multiple sclerosis, Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease and many other well-known conditions.

I met with Jaisri for almost three hours Monday morning and she reviewed my history from birth on and even reviewed my MRIs. She studied my pulse and labeled me a Kapha-Pitta. She told me that I needed to find a way back to practicing art but nothing with chemicals.(Bye-Bye darkroom) She said that suppressing my desire to be an artist was contributing to imbalances. This may be my push to look seriously at a digital camera.

It is her belief that I can be symptom free without conventional medication. She said that her recommendations take time but get rid of the disease more “surely” than conventional medicines that often do more harm than good. (My liver will agree with that!) I think that would be amazing to go drug free and if I had the luxury of time, I would give it a try. I do believe however that the time for Tysabri is NOW! Instead I am going to show Dr. Foley her “prescription” of herbal formulas and other recommendations. If he has no objections, I will follow some of the Ayurvedic recommendations and Tysabri. The food choices recommended for me make perfect sense, although a little bit limiting and she introduced new yoga poses to my routine. She also recommended self massage with Sahacharadi Oil, lunch as my main meal, dinner consistently at 6 or 6:30 and bedtime between 9 and 9:30 if possible but definitely before 10:30.

She also said to try a Panchakarma five day retreat. If I can find the time, I will do it.

My favorite description of Ayurveda…..
The Ayurvedic route to great health involves two simple steps:
1. Doing Less
2. Being More

Leave a Reply

