Tysabri Time

Dr. Foley, my amazing Neurologist was finally approved as an Altius Provider. Yes Tysabri is more expensive than Avonex but because I have a max out of pocket contribution through my health insurance, I won’t be paying any more. Once I hit the max, the insurance covers the rest. This is in my top 10 reasons for not quitting my job and moving to Mexico today!

My plan is to start Tysabri the beginning of July. I want June to be a drug free month.

Here is my big dilemma. If I don’t start Tysabri until July, I should keep doing Avonex for the next three weeks. Will three weeks make a difference? Can I stop now? Should I keep it up? My new order of Avonex arrives today? While I would love to “return to sender” should I really be off treatment for that long. The month I was off in April getting ready for Tysabri was fantastic!! I am usually not so undecided but I don’t think I know what I will do until tomorrow night when I get ready to do my injection. At this point, I think I will stick it out. Will it help in the long run or not be that important???

I just started a two week lean mean eating and exercise plan to get a summer jump start. The plan for the first week looks something like this…

Monday – Done!!
5:15 – 6:00 a.m. – Elliptical Trainer at the gym
6:15 – 6:30 a.m. – Abs Workout – David Kirsch Video

6:45 a.m. – Protein Shake
9:30 – 10:00 a.m. – Egg white egg salad with mustard (no mayo) on greens
1:00 p.m. – shrimp on salad
3:30 p.m. – 7 almonds or 3 oz fish
6:30 – 8:00 – Tennis
8:00 – Protein Shake

Tuesday – Neck too sore for Core Workout so did Yoga instead this morning
5:30 – 6:15 a.m. – Core Workout (from David Kirsch Video)
6:45 a.m. – Protein Shake
9:30 – 10:00 a.m. – Egg white egg salad with mustard (no mayo) on greens

1:00 p.m. – fish on salad
3:30 p.m. – 7 almonds or 3 oz fish
6:00 – 8:00 – Tennis (my first league game!)
8:30 – Protein Shake

Wednesday
5:15-6:15 a.m. – Yoga (with trainer)
6:30-6:45 a.m. – Leg Workout (from David Kirsch Video)
7:00 a.m.-Egg White omelet with Broccoli and spinach
10:00 a.m. – Egg white egg salad with mustard (no mayo) on greens
1:00 p.m. – fish on salad
3:30 p.m. – 7 almonds or 3 oz fish
5:30 – 7:00 – Cranio sacral massage
7:00 – Salad with fish

Thursday – early morning is questionable with injection Wednesday Evening
5:30-6:15 a.m. – Core Workout (from David Kirsch Video)
7:00 a.m.-Egg White omelet with Broccoli and spinach
10:00 a.m. – Egg white egg salad with mustard (no mayo) on greens
1:00 p.m. – fish on salad
3:30 p.m. – 7 almonds or 3 oz fish
5:00 – 5:45 – Workout with Sonia – Strength Training
5:45 – 6:30 – Elliptical or cycle
7:00 – Salad with fish or Protein Shake

Friday
5:15-6:00 a.m. – Elliptical Trainer
6:15 – 6:30 a.m. – Abs Workout
7:00 a.m.-Protien Shake
10:00 a.m. – Egg white egg salad with mustard (no mayo) on greens
1:00 p.m. – fish on salad
3:30 p.m. – 7 almonds or 3 oz fish

6:00 p.m. – Serve a bucket of balls
7:00 – Salad with fish or Protein Shake


Saturday
7:00 – 8:00 a.m. – Core Workout
8:30 a.m.-Protein Shake
10:00 a.m. – Egg white egg salad with mustard (no mayo) on greens
10:50 a.m. – Yoga
1:00 p.m. – fish on salad
3:30 p.m. – 7 almonds or 3 oz fish
6:00 p.m. – Serve a bucket of balls
7:00 – Salad with fish or Protein Shake

Sunday
7:00 – 8:00 a.m. – Walk or play tennis
8:30 a.m.-Yoga
9:15 a.m. – Protein Shake
12:00 – Egg white egg salad with mustard (no mayo) on greens
3:00 p.m. – fish on salad
7:00 – Salad with fish or Protein Shake


I know I can handle the food portion but the exercise may be a little much. I will do what I can and substitute if necessary.

4 responses to “Tysabri Time

  1. Some doctors say to be off Avonex for 2 or 3 months – check with YOUR neurologist. For other immunosuppressants like CellCept and methotrexate (as opposed to immunomodulators like Avonex) it is a 3 month flush-out wait.

  2. yay for good news about tysabri!

    whatever you decide about the next three weeks, you will have a lot of leftover avonex, right? i was just reading on msworld forums about donating unused avonex and other ms meds to those who have trouble affording them. you might want to check that out.

    i personally would take the avonex for as long as the dr. said to keep taking it, but i honestly don’t think a few weeks off the meds is going to make a difference.

  3. Hi Courtney,

    I’m SOOOOOO glad Dr. Foley was accepted by your insurance.., finally.

    I seem to recall you previously saying Foley wanting you off Avonex for 30 days, right? (personally, I feel you only need to be off the ABCRs apprx. 14 days as they don’t last more than a couple of weeks in the body), but I’d double check with Foley.

    To the anonymous poster that left the comment: “Some doctors say to be off Avonex for 2 or 3 months – check with YOUR neurologist.” HUH???????

    Sorry, those dr’s just plain don’t know/understand Tysabri…See: http://www.nationalmssociety.org/site/PageServer?pagename=HOM_RES_tysabri_qanda

    “…[pursuant to the]original phase 3 studies of Tysabri (AFFIRM and SENTINEL trials), the FDA recommends that anyone who has been taking an immune-modifying MS drug (such as Copaxone, Betaseron, Avonex, or Rebif) should not begin Tysabri for two weeks after the last dose”…,

    Take care now – ((((((hugs)))))))

    Lauren 🙂

  4. Inform yourself with the best information available, focus on it and then do what your heart tells you to do! We are with you….

Leave a Reply

