Three more days

I keep reading about struggles to obtain Tysabri. I guess it took me a while to get to this point but most of my delays were insurance related. I chose a doctor who wasn’t a provider with my insurance company. I knew I would have to pay more to see him but I also knew that I could not afford not to have him as my neurologist.

So what do I love about Dr. John Foley? I love that he is honest with me. I love his compassion. I love that anyone I have talked to that knows him, loves him too. I love that he wants me to be an active part of choosing how I treat my MS.

As far as accessing Tysabri, the stories I hear are about patients traveling several hours for infusions, and the touch centers being unorganized. I also hear about patients who have neurologists that refuse to present Tysabri as an option. I feel fortunate that my neurologist helped me to analyze the risk-reward scenario of taking Tysabri and agreed that it was the right choice for me. I feel fortunate that my neurologist finally picked up my insurance so that Tysabri is an affordable option. I am especially thrilled that the Touch Center that I have to go to is at Dr. Foley’s office. (about 15 minutes) from my house.

So yes I had to wait a bit, but as of Monday at 1:30 p.m. Tysabri will be my new MS treatment.

3 responses to “Three more days

  1. I will be anxious to hear how the treatment goes for you!

  2. Thanks for the info on hormones and MS. Makes a lot of sense, and at least now I know what’s going on.

    Good luck with your first infusion of Tysabri. I hope this works out for you BIG time.

  3. You’ve inspired me to create my own blog…life is good even with MS!
    I’m so excited for you to try tysabri. I’m hoping I can try it..convince my Doc. I’ve taken a nutritional route that I know has helped, and at the same time I wonder if being on tysabri would help me even more. I’m off all MS meds…and I’m sleeping through the night for the first time in years.
    Thanks for your inspiration!!!

Leave a Reply

