Push yourself

I am five days into my new workout/eating program and things are going pretty well. The first three days were the worst. I was really missing my sugar! Here is a run down of the past few days of diet and exercise.

Friday, July 27
6:30 a.m. – 4 scrambled egg whites
8:00-9:00 – really hard workout with trainer (lots of leg work)
10:00 – Cottage Cheese with mandarin oranges
1:30 pm – Caprese salad with balsamic vinegar and olive oil
4:30 pm – Protein Shake
7:00 pm – baked trout with grilled zucchini and eggplant

Saturday, July 28th (I am super sore today from yesterdays workout)
8:30 a.m. – 1/2 cup oatmeal with 1 scoop protein powder, 10 frozen blueberries and 1teaspoon honey
11:00 a.m. – protein bar
2:00 p.m. – garden burger with basil pesto and a side of celery (no bread)
3:00 p.m. – 1/2 hour on the treadmill low speed/high incline
4:30 p.m. – deviled eggs with hummus (no yolks)
7:30 p.m – grilled salmon with grilled zucchini with sauteed barley

Sunday, July 29th (Still sore!!)
9:00 a.m. – 4 Hard boiled egg whites
12:00 p.m. – Protein Bar
2:30 p.m. – Baked Tofu, carrots and cucumbers on mixed greens with parm garlic dressing
4:30 p.m. – Apple and almonds
7:00 p.m. – Sauteed scallops with barley and zucchini
NO EXERCISE – REST DAY

Monday, July 30th
5:00 a.m. – 6:00 a.m. – workout with trainer (legs, arms, back, abs)
6:30 a.m. – oatmeal with scoop of protein powder, 10 frozen blueberries and 1 teaspoon honey
11:30 a.m. – protein shake
2:00 p.m. – tuna, carrots and almonds on mixed greens with honey mustard dressing
7:00 p.m. – Grilled tofu with grilled zucchini, steamed broccoli
8:00 p.m. – Protein Bar

Tuesday, July 31
7:00 a.m. – oatmeal with scoop of protein powder, 10 frozen blueberries and 1 teaspoon honey
11:00 a.m. – protein bar
2:00 p.m. – attempted to eat Tempe, cabbage and feta cheese mixture but it was too gross so I just ate mixed greens with basil vinaigrette dressing.
4:30 p.m. – protein bar (should have had blueberries but I needed chocolate)

tonight I have a 30 – 45 minute cardio workout and then dinner is Baked Ginger coconut red snapper with butternut squash. Tomorrow morning it is back to the gym at 5:00 a.m.

For those of you who know me, you know I don’t eat half of the stuff listed above on a regular basis (or ever). I am trying everything and liking most of it. I may have to draw the line with the Kidney Bean salad coming up on Thursday but we’ll see. Who knows? Maybe, I’ll like it.

I was concerned that really pushing myself would cause a drop in energy but it has been quite the opposite. I am sleeping better and feel good. Better to test the waters than be scared to move…or change.

One response to “Push yourself

  1. ARGH … reading this I realize that I forgot my lunch protein bar today!

Leave a Reply

