Tysabri is working and so am I

I had no expectations after my first Tysabri Infusion. I was feeling pretty good going in so I couldn’t imagine feeling better. I do feel better. I no longer have my daily MS reminder…..tingling. I think almost every week and sometimes for days on end my feet would tingle, my hands and arms would tingle and even my face would go numb and tingle. I haven’t felt any of that in over two weeks. My mind is also clearer. I feel like I am accomplishing things more efficiently. I guess I can’t know for sure that these are benefits of Tysabri but I think it seems very likely.

I am over my sugar shakes as I have had eleven days of clean eating. I have been to my workout Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings at 5am and love it. I work hard and feel great when the workout is over! On my off days I am doing some sort of cardio – either walking, hiking or cycling trying to burn a minimum of 500 calories at each workout. I haven’t noticed any big changes in the way my clothes fit but I know the day is coming.

My next Tysabri infusion is a week from tomorrow. I can’t wait for my three month MRI to see some disappearing lesions.

I haven’t been great about reporting on my 101 in 1001 list but here is a quick update. (to see my whole list go to Completed 101 – #75 and for other updates, search the blog for “101”

#4. Read one non-health related book per month. June – Kite Runner, July – Almost finished with Prince of Tides

#7. Save three dollars per day in addition to regular savings – still sticking to it.

#37. Learn Spanish – I am on the way. I just ordered a basic learn to speak Spanish CD from amazon.com.

#49 Workout with a trainer for three consecutive months – I am on week two

#85 Institute monthly date night – Mark and I have been on several dates over the last two months. We went to see two movies…”Knocked Up” and “Oceans 13”. We went to dinner and lunch a few times and have had some alone hikes.

#93 Take Bailey to see her friend in New Hampshire – We are leaving Thursday!!

6 responses to “Tysabri is working and so am I

  1. i’m glad you are feeling so great!

  2. I found this post pretty inspirational. I’ve been slacking a bit on my own program (esp. diet-wise) But now I’m motivated to get back on the bandwagon, thanks.
    I’m so glad the Tysabri is working for you. A day without tingles is a good day indeed!
    My Fingolimod trials seem to be working out for me, though it’s harder to tell because I’ve picked up a bit of disability in the 6 yrs since I’ve been diagnosed. But I have noticed very definite improvement.
    I recently had a session on a Quantec (biofeedback)machine which
    was pretty beneficial, too. You might want to look into that, as it can provide insight into why a person has a particular disorder.
    Good luck with your program! Good on you for keeping it up.

  3. So glad to read your update. I would think that everything you are doing is working together to improve your overall health. Good for you!I am trying to be diligent daily to ride my exercise bike 2 miles. I am doing pretty well with that. I am watching with interest how you progress on Tysabri. Like I said before, I don’t want to go on that yet, but I watch with interest how others are doing with this treatment.

  4. It’s fantastic to hear that you are doing so well. Success stories give us all hope.

  5. Awwww Courtney,

    I’m so happy that you’re seeing symptom improvements, just like I did back in early 2005 within two weeks of my first Tysabri infusion!

    I can only imagine that your MS will now be under control with the help of Tysabri, and all that you are doing for yourself to improve your health.

    Best wishes always dearheart, and I mean that from the bottom of my heart.

    ((((((hugs)))))) Lauren 🙂

  6. Courtney,

    Here I was today thinking how wonderful I feel about being on the morphine patch because I do not feel the daily tingle and pain like I did before I was put on it.

    After reading your post I can’t wait until I start Tysabri in September. Then maybe I can stop wearing the patch. Your post definitely given me hope about Tysabri.

Leave a Reply

