Happy Anniversary

I have been blogging now for just over a year and have known that I have MS for one year and four months. While some days during that year and four months have seemed like they lasted forever, for the most part, the time has really flown by.

Looking back with a little bit of experience, it is interesting to see the things I have tried in an effort to make my MS go away. It is even more interesting to me to see what stuck and what didn’t….

Vitamins – While I have always believer in vitamins, when I found out I had MS, I really added to my daily dose. See Vitamins, Minerals and Supplements, Oh My! – #12 . In the past month, I stopped taking all of my vitamins. I didn’t do it intentionally, but after a weekend away without them, I had a hard time getting back on track. Last week, I started up again and will be taking all of my usual pills by next week. I started back slow.

Craniosacral Massage – I had a two hour session at my house with a cranio sacral massage therapist/healer along with a few sessions at a spa. See Show Compassion . I get it and I know that it is helping many people, I didn’t stick with it. When I have a massage, I want to feel it.

Rebif and Avonex – There are too many posts to reference them all but Avonex and Rebif made me to sick to appreciate the potential benefits.

Solumedrol – After two Solumedrol infusions, the jury is still out. The infusions brought me out of exacerbations but really through me through the ringer in the process. Less is more. A one dose treatment helped me just as much as a three dose treatment but without such horrible side effects. I haven’t needed any steroids since I have started Tysabri!

B12 Injections – I started these shortly after my diagnosis and continue to do them almost every two weeks.

Yoga – Yoga is the thing that makes me feel the best. I haven’t been doing it lately and I can tell that my body and mind do not react to stress as well as when I am practicing. Yoga helps MS.

Diet change – I am still struggling with some of my diet changes. In the past year and four months, I have given up red meat, pork, and all poultry. I gave up dairy for almost a year and ate a very clean raw diet for thirty days. Now, I still abstain from all meat except for seafood. I use soy milk sometimes, and eat some cheeses. I know I am better off without dairy so maybe after the holidays, I will go back to no cheese! I feel so much better without dairy or a lot of sugar but it is sometimes hard to let it go.

Ayurvedic Treatment – I am interested in learning more but not interested enough to take the time right now. See Do Less, Be More

Support from Friends and Family (especially husband) – I always had it, but didn’t realize how much I needed it. See Trying to be patient – #70

Exercise – Without a doubt, when I am exercising on a regular basis, I feel much better.

Blogging – Blogging or keeping a journal of some sort is not only helpful to track symptoms and state of mind but a good reminder of how far I have come. I have been a bit of a slacker lately when it comes to this blog, but I hope to start up with something of interest every other day. Not only has my input been helpful but your response and support has been invaluable.

Tysabri – I will have my fifth infusion on Tuesday and each month I have less severe side effects. This drug is the first to boost my energy levels and reduce my tingling and numbness. So far, so good.

Doing things that I love – getting back into photography and art has been very therapeutic and I hope take more photography classes next year. See http://www.fstop2008.blogspot.com/

Mexico – I can’t wait to go back. See Hola!

Spending time with people that I love – more important than any of the above.

So, in an effort to keep blogging, here is a commitment of future titles to look forward to:
The Speech – how did it go

Update to 101 List

Dabbling in depression

Christmas Shopping?

2nd Annual Thanksgiving Tribute. See….Gratitude-#15

One response to “Happy Anniversary

  1. Happy 1st anniversary!

Leave a Reply

