Is it Terminal?

A neighbor from where I grew up in New Hampshire has cancer. I don’t know the whole story but I know that she had cancer years ago, was treated with chemotherapy and now the cancer is back. This time, her doctor says that it is terminal. Is she going to give up or fight for her life?

I don’t know her very well but I hope she chooses to fight. She is young and has a lot of life left to live. I hope she looks for another doctor or other patients surviving the same type of Cancer that she has. I hope she asks for help. I hope that she looks for inspiration and finds it.

How many MS patients have been told that they would be in a wheelchair in six months? How many of those same patients are running marathons or skiing in the powder today? How many “miracles” do you hear about in Cancer patients beating the odds? Of those beating the odds, how many gave up, and how many fought like hell? The only way to have a chance is to do whatever it takes.

Fighting may include lifestyle changes, doctor changes, new medicines, alternative healing. Fighting may include a total change of heart or change of mind but what other choice do you have? With Cancer, MS, or any other disease that threatens your happiness, your mobility and your life, what other choice do you have other than to fight?

I am in fight mode right now as I prepare for battle. As MS is typically not terminal, I am not fighting to stay alive but I am fighting for my life. I am fighting to maintain the same quality of life that I have right now. I am fighting to maintain my current state of health so that I can hike and bike and ski and do whatever I want for as long as I want. I am fighting to stay off steroids and out of doctors offices. I am fighting to maintain the energy to laugh and play with my family.

It is not terminal until you say its terminal. I am fighting for my life.
Fight with me.

5 responses to “Is it Terminal?

  1. i got my boxin gloves on with you babe!!

    love you
    a

  2. Charles-A. Rovira

    With Cancer, MS, or any other disease that threatens your happiness, your mobility and your life, what other choice do you have other than to fight?

    My attitude exactly.

    What choice do we have but to fight it?

    I like Dylan Thomas’s poem “A Villanelle

    Do not go gentle into that good night,
    Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

    I intend to go down fighting and spitting. (They’ll have to Tazer my old butt before they can slide it down the chute. 🙂

  3. I was diagnosed with MS in 1989. I was a single parent with full support and custody of three young girls, one of which had chronic asthma. That was 20 years ago.

    Based on the severity of the first “diagnosed” attack (I had actually been having attacks for four years previously…the first when I was pregnant with my youngest daughter) I was told that my prognosis was not good. They felt I would be in a wheelchair in less than two years.

    What they didn’t understand was that I had three little girls to raise. And that I sold cars for a living to make enough to offer those girls a comfortable lifestyle.

    They also didn’t understand I refuse to be on long term drug therapy. When they come up with an actual cure, maybe, until then I will only accept symptomatic and “attack” based medication and/or treatment.

    Twenty years later I still do what I want physically. Yes my attacks are a little more difficult to fight off, but keep in mind this too will pass. I actually countdown the weeks during an attack (mine usually last five to six weeks of severe with only three to five days of acute).

    MS disability is 90% mindset and attitude. I have been told I shouldn’t be able to walk as I do so, that I shouldn’t be able to type, etc etc etc. Make your body work for as long as possible. Adapt to your “inconvienences”. You can live a full excellent lifestyle with MS.

  4. I like visiting your blog. You always leave me feeling inspired. You don’t do ‘poor me’ and you always have a plan of action. Keep it up. We have to be so vigilant with this MS thing, don’t we? But with so many inspiring stories out there, it is definitely worth the fight.
    Check out my blog, entry of 2 April – I have a little something for you there.

  5. great post.

Leave a Reply

