Extra Curricular Activities

I love reading blogs that are frequently updated. That being said…why has it been almost a month since I last blogged? It’s not that I don’t have anything interesting to say, I just haven’t set aside the time to put it in writing.

I feel like I only have so much time for extra curricular activities. Because I have been devoting much of my time to exercise and photography lately, I haven’t had a lot of blogging time. I know, lame excuse!

I can’t remember where I left off so I will just tell you where I am today. Last week I had Tysabri infusion #10. It was my best infusion yet with not so much as a hint of a side effect. The Benedryl made me sleepy but I don’t think that is something I can control. I think that taking my new herbs has really helped me tolerate the drug better. My energy levels are much better and more consistent and I am really feeling good.

I spent this past weekend in sunny Las Vegas with my sister, her best friend and a few other girls to celebrate the best friend’s birthday. We had such a blast. I ate too much, drank too much, stayed up too late and got to much sun and enjoyed every minute of it. Mark joined me on my last night there and we went out for a great Italian Dinner and an exciting Cirque du Soleil show.

(What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas so I can’t really give you any more details of my amazing weekend).

Tysabri has really increased my heat tolerance. Last year in Mexico, laying in the sun, my feet would get tingly and I would have to go in the pool to cool off. This year in Vegas, I was in the sun all day and never had a problem.

Now that I am back from Vegas, into reality, I am back to training for the Ride the Vineyard 100k MS ride coming up on May 3rd. If only it would stop snowing here, I could get out on my bike!!

I had my second phone consultation with Dr. John Doulliard, the Ayurvedic Doctor from Boulder and I am really pleased with my progress in following his recommendations. This session we focused on breathing exercises. He explained to me that breathing in and out of the nose, especially during exercise is so important. Scarring happens when there is a lack of oxygen. With deep breathing exercises, I can hyper-oxygenate (I made that word up I think) and avoid further scarring. It makes sense to me as hyperbaric oxygen therapy is used most frequently for wound healing. I am also adding in a new herb that I will tell you about in the next post.

So that’s it for now. I will try harder to post more often!

3 responses to “Extra Curricular Activities

  1. Post when it makes sense to you … it should be something you LIKE to do, not an obligation.

  2. Do you get a headache with your tysabri? I do and it lasts for 6 days. I cannot help but think that I am wasting 6 days of my life every month. I am not sure it is worth it.
    Let me know when you have a fee minute.
    Shaun
    http://www.roomswithaview.typepad.com

  3. Hi Courtney. Great post. I find that I go through stages where I ride a wave and become a very prolific blogger, and then I disappear for ages and don’t go near my pc. I guess it’s always there waiting for one for when one needs it. That’s what I like about google-reader. I don’t have to keep checking up on my friends-in-the-computer. One day, I’ll be pleasantly surprised when they pop up in my unread items 😉

    Your Ayurvedic program, was that custom made for you, or do you think it would work for anyone with MS?

    On the subject of breathing: I’m a great believer in the power of breathing properly. It was actually one of my NY’s ressies to get cracking with that, and so far I have taught myself to do proper diaphragmatic breathing, and I am loving it. A really great book to read is ‘Super power breathing’ by (my hero) Paul Bragg. I can thoroughly recommend this book if you are interested in breathing.

    Good luck with your ventures.

    Maggie

Leave a Reply

