It is not what it is

Since the initial shock of my MS diagnosis, I have been searching for answers, talking to a lot of people about MS and researching different medications, both traditional and alternative. For the most part I am vigilant about being healthier tomorrow than I am today. I do wonder though if I will ever accept things for what they are (whatever that means) and become complacent. If you have had MS or another chronic illness for many years, do you eventually say, “It is what it is”?

I hear people say “It is what it is” in so many instances when they don’t think that things can change. “It is what it is” means there is no opportunity for change or improvement. People say “It is what it is” when they feel powerless. I’ve learned from my Yoga practice that acceptance is a good thing, that it is good to accept that you are in the very place and condition you are supposed to be in at this moment. I may not be a very good Yoga student because I do not accept that.

I feel good today but I believe that if I lose 10-20 pounds, I will feel even better.

I feel good today but I believe that if I exercise every day, I will feel even better.

I have a chronic, often progressive, debilitating disease but I believe that if I fight that I will reverse it.

I feel good today but I believe that if I sleep eight hours tonight, tomorrow I will feel even better.

I am powerful and I know things will change.
I will lose more weight.
I will exercise.
I will fight and I will sleep eight hours tonight.

I will not become complacent and I will not EVER accept that “it is what it is”.

3 responses to “It is not what it is

  1. Hear, hear! I feel exactly the same way. I accept that I have MS, but I do not accept the prognosis. I have been prepared to fight from day one, and that is working for me. No way am I just hanging my head and saying, “Okay, MS, you can take me.” Not without a fight.

  2. Denver Refashionista

    Well said sistah!

  3. I like your attitude and am glad I found your blog. It’s amazing the things that pop up when you just google the words MS and Dizzy together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

