MS Brings Pure Joy

When MS isn’t messing up my life and making me write posts entitled, “MS Sucks”, it brings me pure joy.

It has been months now since I have felt any ongoing MS symptoms. I am on vacation. I traveled from Utah to the East Coast. Traveling typically brings out the worst in my MS. On this trip, I have had two plane trips, a boat ride, lots of driving (even in horrible rain storms), late nights with two teenage girls, some greasy food and days of swimming in the sun. Any of these things would typically send me into a relapse. This time, the only symptom resulting from travel is pure joy.

Before my diagnosis, I appreciated what I had. Or, at least I thought I did. Now, I think I get it. When my mind is clear, nothing goes unnoticed.

I woke up this morning and could very clearly see my daughter sleeping soundly in the next bed over. I looked outside at the crashing waves and realizing that my vision was clear brought me pure joy. My strong legs brought me on an early morning hike overlooking the ocean. That brought me pure joy. When I took a harbour cruise this afternoon, the motion of the waves made me laugh. Leaving the motion on the boat brought me pure joy. Talking long distance to my husband today and knowing that he wished we were together on this trip and understanding that he is still so happy to be with me after all of the ups and downs of the diagnosis and constant MS fight brought me pure joy.

The only place my MS is visible is on a scan.

I am the person I wanted to meet and get to know two years ago when I was diagnosed with MS. We’ve met and that brings me pure joy.

3 responses to “MS Brings Pure Joy

  1. Well said! That is the one gift that MS brings – the ability to value EVERY little thing, and never take our health for granted.

  2. Denver Refashionista

    A moment of Samadhi Bliss? Or is it Samtosha (pure content). Either one is awesome. MS has also made me appreciate the little things. I too am feeling good inside.

  3. I love that you wrote, “I am the person I wanted to meet and get to know two years ago.” I have had that feeling many times and not been able to articulate it. I was diagnosed at 19 (almost 9 years ago) and I would have loved to have met me today, because I’ve done all the things that she wanted to do by the age of 28. I wish I could go back to whisper that into her ear so she wouldn’t be so scared.

Leave a Reply

