Do you B12?

I get bored when I start to read something that becomes too scientific. While I like to understand why I take vitamins and other medications, it must be explained to me in the most simplistic way. Otherwise, I tune out!

In researching the importance of B12, I tuned out a bunch. Here is one simple explanation I found:

Vitamin B12 is a water soluble vitamin with a key role in the normal functioning of the brain and nervous system, and for the formation of blood. It is one of the eight B vitamins. It is normally involved in the metabolism of every cell of the body, especially affecting DNAfatty acid synthesis and energy production. synthesis and regulation, but also fatty acid synthesis and energy production.

While that is not all simple, it is simple enough for me to understand that B12 is a vital part of NORMAL functioning of the BRAIN and NERVOUS SYSTEM. I want that.

I found this article interesting (and simple) B12

Key Points:

“Studies have reported a significantly higher rate of vitamin B12 deficiency in people with MS than in people without MS, which is suspected to be due to problems with binding and transport of vitamin B12 (meaning that the body does not process vitamin B12 efficiently, which makes it difficult to maintain normal levels without supplementation).

People with vitamin B12 deficiency have destruction of both the myelinaxon. If the deficiency is severe, there can be serious brain damage, causing MS-like symptoms. Even when people have slight B12 deficiency, they may exhibit symptoms like fatigue, depression and memory loss. and the underlying

Vitamin B12 helps maintain the myelin sheath by playing a crucial role in the metabolism of fatty acids essential for the maintenance of myelin.”

I want to protect the Myelin I have left (in the hopes that it will attract more Myelin =)). My B12 levels are (not surprisingly) low and I have them tested every 3-6 months. I give myself 1 B12 injection a week. I don’t have any side effects.

I have heard rumors that B12 helps with weight loss and am sad to report that this has not been my experience. =(

So, do you take B12 shots? Do you test your B12 levels?

2 responses to “Do you B12?

  1. I haven’t tried B12 but maybe I should. I’ll ask my acupuncturist.

  2. My B12 was found to be low. I take a suppliment each day and my Dr. rechecks the levels every three months.

    Can’t say that I notice anything different though

    Jan

Leave a Reply

